Canton Charge’s Alex Jensen is D-League Coach of the Year

CANTON —The Canton Charge’s Alex Jensen is the NBA Development League’s Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year.

In his second season as a head coach on any level, the 36-year-old Jensen led the Charge to the playoffs for the second straight season. Canton went 30-20 in the regular season and won the East Division title before Jensen’s banged-up squad lost to a loaded Tulsa 66ers team 2-1 in the first round of the playoffs.


Jensen, a former player for the late Rick Majerus at Utah, spent four years as an assistant coach for Majerus at Saint Louis University before the Charge hired him prior to the 2011-12 season. Taking over what was basically an expansion franchise, Jensen led the Charge to a 27-23 record and a first-round upset of No. 2 seed Springfield in the playoffs. The Charge fell a game short of the D-League championship series, losing to Austin 2-1 in the semifinals.

Including playoffs, Jensen is 61-48 in his two seasons as Charge head coach.

The award is named after Hall of Famer Dennis Johnson, who won three NBA championships with the Boston Celtics and Seattle SuperSonics. Johnson was in his third season coaching in the D-League when he passed away in 2007 at the age of 52 from a heart attack.

Recent Dennis Johnson Coach of the Year winners

2008-09 Quin Snyder, Austin Toros

2009-10 Chris Finch, Rio Grande Valley Vipers

2010-11 Nick Nurse, Iowa Energy

2011-12 Eric Musselman, Los Angeles D-Fenders

2012-13 Alex Jensen, Canton Charge